AJCAA Tutoring Programme 2013

Duration: 17 August 2013 — 26 October 2013

For the eighth consecutive year, AJCAA has organized the AJCAA Tutoring Programme for the graduating students of AJC, in order to support them in their studies.

For 2013, over 8 tutoring sessions (6 formal and 2 informal sessions) held in the reading room at AJC, we have helped 67 students, compared to 48 students last year, who were in need of academic support in subjects like General Paper, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Physics and Economics.

The programme was highly received by the tutees, with more than 67% of the tutees who "strongly agreed" in a survey that "they have benefited from the programme and will recommend their juniors to join the programme".

Kudos to our 20 fantastic alumni who came down especially on Saturday mornings from 9am to 12 pm to guide our juniors. AJCAA would like to offer our most sincere appreciation for their commitment and concern for our juniors. Indeed, they have exemplified the spirit of Non Mihi Solum.

AJCAA would like to thank the Principal, Mr Lee Seng Hai and the College for sponsoring the light refreshments for the programme. Also, a big thank you to the AJC School Advisory Committee for the full funding of the transportation reimbursements to our fellow alumni tutors.

We will start our recruitment for Alumni Tutoring 2014 in early June. If you are interested in joining our Tutoring Programme as a tutor, stay tuned and come forward to volunteer yourself for the Programme!

Our volunteers for 2013 are (in alphabetical order):

No. Tutor PDG
1 Benedict Matthew Foong Sheng Ming 20/11
2 Chan Yee Chong Philip 26/11
3 Chelsea Tan Yuan Yun 36/11
4 Chew Zheng Hao Dexter 23/10
5 D Krishna Bhagirath 05/11
6 Ding Gong Yi 10/09
7 Du Yanxian 26/07
8 Fan Zhi Wei 02/10
9 Kuek Jing 20/09
10 Mandi Tan Munlin 36/11
11 Oh En Yao Joshua 05/10
12 Ong Junjie 29/06
13 Ong Min Keat 06/11
14 Tan Hong Kiat Germaine 36/09
15 Tan Khim Yang 19/08
16 Tan Ming Shan 30/08
17 Tan Juay Seng 01/87
18 Tan Wei Chong Fabian 09/11
19 Tang Haoyang Ryan 11/11
20 Yong Hua Xiang 05/10

Our AJCAA EXCO members and Alumni Office teachers who had to watch over the sessions are (in alphabetical order):
Kendrik Tan, Kent Teo, Lim Kian Kiat, Mo Peiying, Siau Fong Fui, Udayakumar, You Kailun and Zeng Lijia